Computer Science Transfer Program Schedule Guide

Degree Name: Computer Science Transfer Program Schedule Guide
Degree or Program: Computer Science
Degree Type: Associate of Arts Degree
Italicized courses are recommended to be taken for elective credits.
First Semester      
ENG 101 English Composition I 3  
CPT 115 Intro to Data Processing 3  
MAT 180 Calculus & Analytic Geometry I 5  
COL 101 College Success Seminar
  Humanities (Group I) 3  
  TOTAL   15
Second Semester      
ENG 102 English Composition II 3  
  Humanities (Group II) 3  
  Multicultural/Valuing 3  
MAT 230 Calculus & Analytical Geometry II 5  
  Social Science (Group I) 3  
  TOTAL   17
Third Semester      
  Lab Science Course 4  
SPE 101 Oral Communications 3  
MAT 240 Calculus & Analytical Geometry III 5  
  Course(s) in major for transfer institution 3  
  Social Science (Group II) 3  
  TOTAL   18
Fourth Semester      
MAT 242 Intro to Linear Algebra 3  
  Course(s) in major for transfer institution 3  
  Natural Science Course 3-4  
  Humanities Course 3  
  Social Science Course 3  
 COL 299 Sophomore Portfolio Assessment 1  
  TOTAL   16-17
Total Hours Required For Graduation   64

There are two Pathways for Computer Science to choose from, career or professional.

  1. One leads to the Associate of Arts degree that can be transferred toward an advanced degree at a four-year institution.
  2. The other path leads to an Associate of Applied Science degree that is not meant for transfer but instead to prepare the student for immediate entry to a career in computer science. See the computer science "career" program options outlined in Associate of Applied Science.

For more information call 636-922-8241.


Degree Info.

The Associate of Arts degree is awarded to students completing the requirements of the academic transfer program with a minimum of 64 credit hours including 45 hours of general education courses. This degree is best suited to most transfer students as it parallels the work done in the first two years of a Bachelor of Arts degree at a four-year institution.