SCC’s Center Stage Theatre to present ‘Next Year’s Man of Steel’ April 23-27

March 21, 2014

Center Stage Theatre of St. Charles Community College will present “Next Year’s Man of Steel” by David Belke, directed by Jeff David, Wednesday-Sunday, April 23-27, in the theater of the Donald D. Shook Fine Arts Building at SCC.

“Next Year’s Man of Steel” is set in 1940 when a struggling and opportunistic writer, Everett Gardner, is given the chance to make a mark in the still infant comic book industry. All he has to do is create a hero, which turns out to be more difficult than he expects. Everett learns that heroes can arise in the most unexpected places.

The show will be performed at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday-Thursday, April 23-24; 8 p.m. Friday-Saturday, April 25-26; and 2 p.m. Sunday, April 27. A school matinee will be performed at 10 a.m. April 24.

Cast members include: David Smithson as Everett Gardner, Mike McPartland as Simon Reed, Alex Hylton as Sheldon Kurtzberg and Mikayla Sherfy as Ramona Reed.

Tickets are $8 for adults, $6 for seniors and non-SCC students and free for SCC students with ID. Tickets will be offered at a special reduced price of $5 for everyone on Budget Wednesdays. To purchase tickets, visit or call the SCC Box Office at 636-922-8050. For additional information, visit St. Charles Community College is located at 4601 Mid Rivers Mall Drive in Cottleville.

For accommodations information, email

St. Charles Community College is a public, comprehensive two-year community college with associate degrees and certificate programs in the arts, business, sciences and career-technical fields. SCC provides workforce training and community-based personal and professional development as well as cultural, recreational and entertainment opportunities. For more information, visit

SCC Social

SCC Blogs

Amber Peterson
Marketing Specialist

Andrea Compton
Associate Professor

Anna Richter

Dan Porter
Grounds Supervisor

Friends & Alumni
SCC Foundation

Jenny Hahn Schnipper
Academic and Career Counselor

Maria Pizzo

Ron Chesbrough


Heather McDorman
Vice President for Enrollment and Marketing Services

Ben Munson
Director of Creative Services

Brynne Cramer
Public Relations Coordinator

Nick Hogan
Website Coordinator